Count me in!

Sometimes, as in recently, I realize how emotionally involved I am with things that are not my real life.  First off, I went and saw Knight and Day. Normally, I’m not much of a movie person, let alone an intense action movie. (In my case, this counts as an intense action movie.)  But I watched this one. With my roommate and former roommate.  At a dollar theater. I feel like that makes it more epic or something…probably not really though.

The whole time we were watching it, I kept thinking the climax was happening, and then it would get more intense. I’m not even kidding you, I spent 6/7 of the movie with my knees up to my chin, wringing my hands, covering my eyes, and whispering “OH MY GOODNESS” under my breath (no talking during the movies!) My cardigan got pretty wrinkly from my twisting of it over and Over and OVER again.  And then, when we got home I was sort of shaky from being so emotionally invested in the movie.  Yeah, that happened.  (p.s. Not my favorite movie ever, but it was okay.)

Then, this week at work, (‘member how I work at the coolest place ever? ) I’ve been working on a family correspondence collection.  One of the 12 children just got a divorce(well, really it was in the 70s….but still!). That nearly broke my heart.  I felt like I was part of the family–that happens sometimes when you read the whole family’s correspondence for 3 weeks–but this just crushed me. I mean, I had read this daughter’s letters from college, from her mission, to her sister when she was in love; I practically knew her whole life! And then she got divorced. So sad!

After I got home from class today, I decided to actually do some homework–novel idea, I know. So, I settled into my Doctrine and Covenants homework, since it’s due tomorrow morning by 8 am. I got to read all about Martin Harris. and his losing of the 116 pages of manuscript.  I was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO angry at him. It was ridiculous.  I mean, why couldn’t he just have had a little bit more faith? Or just been a little bit more intimidated by Joseph Smith and followed the rules of conversation making based on your role in the relationship?  Or even just accepted no for an answer?  I was super super super angry at him. (I know, it’s kind of dumb to be mad at someone who died in 1875.)   If you stretch it, you could say that I was just likening the scriptures unto myself, but I don’t really think that’s what Nephi meant….

I don’t know why I feel like I am a part of all of these things.  But it’s driving me crazy and wearing me out. Being that emotionally invested is tiring.

And also kind of really dumb. (For reals, who cares that much?) I mean, none of those are actually my real life.  Maybe it’s just because life is being pretty low-key right now.  But still. That’s just plain weird.

One thought on “Count me in!

Leave a Reply

