I am thankful for…

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, and in honor of those cut-out hand turkeys I used to love making in elementary school, I have been trying to think of things I am grateful for this Thanksgiving, you know, to try to get me excited for Thanksgiving and not just breeze over it right to Christmas. (That is a really long sentence.)   So, today when I was doing some pretty mindless work,(getting ready for school, walking across campus shivering, sending  a text message, and sorting MORE of the seemingly-never-ending correspondence at work)  I compiled a mental list of things I am grateful for.

1. Punctuation.

Think for a second about how much you use punctuation in your daily life.  Punctuation, whether you realize it or not, does wonders for communication.  I mean, think about this sentence for a second:  “Let’s eat, Grandma.”  or “Let’s eat Grandma.”  The first sentence is obviously much more socially acceptable, seeing as you’re not being cannibalistic, but can you see how without necessary punctuation, those sentences could get confused?

Also, punctuation is beautiful. Punctuation can determine, in part, the tone a piece of writing will take. I am a fan of punctuation in text messages.  I mean, after-date texts without an exclamation mark can mean something very different from after-date texts with an exclamation mark. I am thankful for punctuation.

2.  The seemingly-never-ending collection of correspondence at work.

The only reason I’m grateful for this is that it means I have a job and probably will for at least a little while.  And, as you may remember, I have the coolest job ever.  And it pays the rent. So that’s a pretty great thing.

3.  Snow

Even though I do not really enjoy the freezingness that happens to me in the early morning while I walk up to class, snow is magical.  I can’t watch a snowstorm and not be delighted. (Unless I’m driving, but that’s not a problem for me here in Provo.)  Also, during the first flurries of the season, a friend texted me to tell me how excited he was about the snow, seeing as he hadn’t seen any snow for 2 years. I can be grateful for snow because of that.  Also, snow means I can brush my teeth next summer. Big fan of that. Plus, snow means Thanksgiving, Christmas, the end of the semester, hot chocolate, sweaters, and blankets. I like those things.

4.  The fact that when I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, there’s not nudity.

What the heck,  director?

5. Books.

Books are magical. They can teach you stuff, keep you entertained, enlighten you, give you directions, make you laugh, make you cry, and take you places. Books can build relationships (or tear them apart, but let’s be positive!).

6.  London.

I know, I should stop talking about my experience sometime.  I was just SO GREAT! There are lots of  things that I’m grateful for about London.  Number one: I learned so much; I learned about the city, the culture, the Church, and, most importantly (or at least I think so) ME.  I don’t really know if those lessons could have been learned some other way, but I kind of like to think that they couldn’t have been.  Also, I am super grateful for the friendships I made while I was out there.

7.  Normal roommates

This is probably awful of me to say on the internet where anyone can see this, but there was a time in my life when I didn’t have nice roommates. They were not nice at all, actually.  (And no, I won’t tell you who or when.)  But, this year, my roommates are great!

8. School.

School is great. It keeps me busy–very busy, in fact–which is nice. It means I don’t have to think about other things that could be way bad if I just sat around and dwelt on them all the time.  Also, I am getting a pretty quality education, if you ask me. I mean, I could FOR SURE do without Physical Science 100 in my life, but there are only 11 times left! Other than that, school is great.

9.  Post-it notes

Being able to just write a note and stick it to the wall is the best thing ever. Especially since I don’t own any tape.  The bright colored post-it notes are my favorite, because then, even if they fall off the wall, I can usually find them on my blueish carpet.

What are you thankful for?

P.S. If you want to get more into the Thanksgiving mood, watch this little video!

 

3 thoughts on “I am thankful for…

  1. You are hilarious right now the point is that it’s five days until we see Les Miserables in theater are you so excited to see because I am so excited and nice post!

Leave a Reply

