Pushing Daisies

I may be a morbid person.  Recently, it has come to my attention that a lot of the TV shows that I watch involve someone dying. These shows may or may not include Psych, NCIS, and Pushing Daisies.  See, my tv watching habits could be considered a little on the morbid side.  But, it’s not ALWAYS a murder that needs to be solved; sometimes it’s a kidnapping or an art theft.  So, don’t worry about my morbidity.

I was recently introduced to Psych, and even more recently, to Pushing Daisies.

And here’s the thing: I love them both.  A lot.

The thing that is so great about Psych is that a DTR conversation can consist of a conversation about legos and motorcycles, and still get the point across. That, my friends, is my kind of DTR. (Plus, it’s a  pretty darn clean show!) That is all on that matter.

Pushing Daisies may be the best thing ever.  Everything in it could be a creation that comes out of my mouth. Ned the piemaker can bring people back to life after they are dead. His childhood sweetheart, Chuck (or, her real name: Charlotte Charles)  was dead. And guess what Ned did?  Brought her back to life. But now they can’t touch.  So they kiss through plastic wrap. INGENIOUS.

Ned also wants to impress Chuck and make her happy, so they do all sorts of adorably precious stuff, like putting beehives and flowers on the rooftop of the pie restaurant they run.

Also, since Ned can bring people back to life, he’s kind of really useful in murder investigations. And the murders are usually quite unique. For example:  someone dies when a scratch and sniff book explodes; another person is killed by the ghost of a horse jockey; someone else has hidden treasure in the windmill museum.

And they run a restaurant called “THE PIEHOLE”.

I love the town. I love the characters. I love the dialogue. I love the premise. I love the theme song. I love the narrator. I love everything about it. And Ned is kind of a lot adorable.  Especially in regards to Chuck.

Too bad they canceled it after only 2 seasons.  And thank goodness for Hulu/dvds.

 

6 thoughts on “Pushing Daisies

  1. I am SOOO happy that you love Pushing Daisies! I have never gotten in to Psych, but I can definitely agree that Pushing Daisies is one of the greatest things ever.

    One thing you didn’t mention: Jim Dale. Just another reason why it is so awesome.

  2. This may or may not surprise you, but I love Pushing Daisies/ am in love with Ned. I love that you discovered this, yet I’m slightly disappointed I didn’t introduce you to it.

Leave a Reply

