If you are what you read, I’d be dead

This semester, I’m taking a Young Adult literature class, and I love it. I get to read 30 YA books for class–what better homework could a girl ask for?

But, here’s the thing: Lately, the books I have been reading have been  a tad on the morbid side, to say the least. And by a tad on the morbid side, I mean that death plays a major role in the story.

Book #1. After the First Death by Robert Cormier. {This book tells a story of sacrifice, courage, and hopelessness. And it definitely had the shock-factor ending. SO SO SO GOOD. Plus, I could not even put this down. Something about the absolute humanness of the busdriver was wonderful to me, even though the rest of the story was so doom and gloom.}

Book #2. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman {This book tells the story of an orphaned boy raised by the ghosts of the graveyard.  It’s definitely a coming of age story, but from a different angle. More than being morbid, this book was charming. How can you not love a main character named Nobody Owens?}

Book #3. Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond. {Kit and his “friend” John play the Game called Death. So intriguing and beautiful story! I could not put this book down. That’s a serious problem.}

Book #4 (to read). Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol {A graphic novel. I am so excited!}

Book #5 (to read) I am not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells. {I have heard great things about this courtesy of Rachel, Rob, and Sarah. But I haven’t read it yet.}

Generally, I like to think of myself as pretty happy person. But these books have been so great. Of the 3 that I’ve read, I’ve loved them. Absolutely loved them. And I would totally recommend them to anyone. (EXCEPTION: I maybe wouldn’t recommend the Robert Cormier to everyone because it’s pretty shocking.) But, yes, do read them.

P.S. IF you want a real treat, you should listen to Neil Gaiman read The Graveyard Book–it’s delightful! I definitely listened to this book via CD, and it was fantastic! Do it! Do it! Do it!

Also, while we’re talking about reading/books/love, I’m going to put a plug in for Goodreads.com. Goodreads.com is magical. I love it. We should be friends on Goodreads, yes? And, besides seeing what cool books your friends are reading, you can enter to win FREE BOOKS. (Who doesn’t love that? I don’t even know.)And, after you rate 20 books, Goodreads makes recommendations for YOU PERSONALLY.

Pinky promise: I’m not a morbid person. But apparently books about Death fascinate me? Or maybe just books fascinate me. Who  knows.

 

 

Leave a Reply

