Fix by Force

Fix by Force by Jason Warne: A review

If you want a book teaching you how to get a hold of steroids and use them improperly while living the drama-filled life of a 15-year-old boy, this is the book for you.

Spencer Shane has had a horrific life. His dad was a jerk and an alcoholic. His mom was a hard-core drug user. Spencer was small, good at nothing, and picked on by the bullies. All his life he wanted to rewrite the script he was living. When he discovered a secret stash of steroids (that get him expelled, btw) at his house, he finds a way to solve all his problems. He finds a way to escape his life and prove once and for all that he is better than his dad.

Only, as all things do when you’re the protagonist in a book for YA about discovering yourself, everything backfires. Spencer finds more about his secret-filled past and comes to terms with who he is all the while using steroids.

Okay.  First of all, I did not like this book. Spencer bugged me. I didn’t even feel sorry for him, I just outright didn’t like him.  He was another one of those mopey teenage boys that sits around in misery and wallows in self-pity.  I HATE THAT.

Second of all, steroids. Seriously? Steroids? If a teenager wanted to get their hands on steroids, this book could give them step-by-step instructions on how to. Doesn’t society have enough problems without all the teenagers who read this deciding to go use steroids?

Ultimately, I didn’t even want to read this book once I started it. I had to force myself to read one chapter at a time (fortunately the chapters were fairly short), and even that was painful.

Unless you’re a teenager confused about how to find steroids, I wouldn’t recommend this book. And even if you were a teenager confused about how to find steroids, I wouldn’t recommend this book.

(Note: I got this book for free through Booksneeze).

2 thoughts on “Fix by Force

  1. Booksneeze? BOOKSNEEZE? I’m afraid I might not be able to take whatever this thing is seriously, even if I knew what it was!

    • I thought it sounded hilarious when I signed up, but I’m having my doubts so far. Booksneeze is the organization that sends me free books in return for a review of the book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

