Chugga Chugga Choo Choo

After three weeks of riding the UTA Frontrunner as part of my daily commute, I can proudly say that I love it! (It seems that many of my fellow passengers feel just the opposite, but whatevs.) There are so many things I love about it, and a few things I wished were different.  (But only a few, I promise.)

Frontrunner–an artist’s depiction

First of all, in books, only wonderful things happen on trains.  The Boxcar children love their experience with trains so much, they choose to call one home.  After a train ride, Anne Shirley finds home at Green Gables.  The first gift of Christmas is given after a train ride on the Polar Express.  Harry meets Ron and Hermione on a train. (Well, technically speaking, he meets Ron at the train station, but it’s essentially the same concept.) Dill loves his train ride to Maycomb.

(Note: Don’t think too hard about books with trains or you’ll arrive at Murder on the Orient Express…and that’s not quite so wonderful.)

Trains just have a magical feel to them. I know it sounds cheesy and dumb, but there’s something completely different about riding a train. Especially when you compare it to that of riding the bus.

Riding the train reminds me of that one time I went to London. We took lots of trains. (And plus, I just love the Tube.)

Sometimes I think I’m a 5-year-old boy at heart. I love watching tractors and cement trucks and fire trucks. Trains fall into this category, as well.

The best part: whizzing past Friday Night Rush Hour traffic.  Love love love it.

My 2 complaints:

First and foremost, “Please mind the gap between the train and the platform” is missing from my daily commute. Every day as I board the train, I think that sentence (and, of course, it’s in a British accent.)

Second, there’s no one pushing  food trolley that sells pumpkin pasties or chocolate frogs.

It’s true; I’m one of those people.  I love me some public transportation.

Leave a Reply

