The time I got stuck in a jacket at work

As you may or may not know, I work at the LDS Church History Library in downtown SLC.  That’s not really all that relevant, except for this part: In my day to day tasks, I spend a lot of time in rooms that are kept at 55 degrees Fahrenheit.  Not too warm, my friends, not too warm.  (Granted, they aren’t the -4 degrees FREEZERS, but they’re still chilly. Especially for extended periods of time.)

Well, we wear these jackets. They’re your basic fleece jacket with the Church History Library Logo embroidered on. They’re classy. And warm.

Well, about 2 weeks ago I broke the zipper on my jacket while it was in the dryer.

Today, I tried to zip it. And I got the zipper stuck just a baby bit.

And then a baby bit more.

And then a baby bit more.

I was convinced that if I could zip it up, I should be able to unzip it.

Not the case, my friends, not the case.  Once I realized the zipper was not coming down, I stopped zipping it so that I could pull my head through if it came to that. I was officially stuck in my jacket.

I tugged and tugged.

Nothing.

I had a couple of my coworkers look at it.

They couldn’t fix it.

I took it (well, my whole self, since I was stuck) down to a wise senior sister missionary.

She just laughed at me.

Finally, I got in the elevator (all by myself) and pulled an incredible hulk. I literally ripped my jacket open (without actually tearing any fabric).

I was free. Taking a jacket off has never felt so good.

And that’s the story of how I got stuck in a jacket.

Leave a Reply

