The Miracle of the Accordion

I don’t know about you, but Christmas miracles are a thing I fully believe in.  All year long, any good and unexpected thing becomes a Christmas miracle, no matter the season or upcoming holiday, it’s always a Christmas miracle.  It’s a phrase I’ve been using for 4ish years now, fairly regularly, due to the fact that I almost ruined Christmas in 2009.

Cue weird dreamy waves.

First, I almost knocked over the Christmas tree.  Then, I accidentally left a dessert that needed to be refrigerated out overnight, thus making it inedible.  I felt terrible.

But, the reason it became a Christmas miracle was this:

First, I remembered that we had another dessert frozen that we could thaw and serve at our holiday party.

Second, one of my friends who was on a mission contacted me to have me get in contact with his family (who lived just down the street) so that they could have their Christmas missionary phone call.

And thus the phrase became part of my day to day life.

This year, the biggest Christmas miracle of my whole life so far happened the first weekend of December.

I got an accordion.

For Free.

Truly a Christmas Miracle!

Here’s how it all went down: I have a wonderful coworker who collects quirky musical instruments.  He was telling us about this one day, and I asked him if he had an accordion.

Naturally, he did.

Even better, he wanted to get rid of it.  To him, it was useless–he doesn’t play. He said he might bring it as a white elephant gift to a party we were having.

I started preparing.  (Truth be told, I’m not super competitive by nature, but this was a matter of life and accordion, and I was willing to prepare Hunger Games style to come out with an accordion.)

Well, our white elephant party started, and there was nothing accordion-shaped there.  I was a baby bit disappointed, but nothing too tragic.  We all had a good time, and hilarity ensued.

As we were cleaning up, my non-accordion-playing coworker (okay, so that’s misleading. None of my coworkers play the accordion.) came and tapped me on the shoulder and gifted me with his accordion. THE BIGGEST CHRISTMAS MIRACLE OF MY WHOLE LIFE.

Guys. I was so excited and happy and joyful I almost started to cry.  I’m not even joking.  Playing the accordion has been on my bucket list for years and years. As in like 10+.  Seriously.  We pulled it out and admired it and boy oh boy, do I love it!

Don’t mind me photobombing myself. It’s like Liz in a Where’s Waldo form!

Every time I think about how I got that little beauty, I almost start to cry.   Serious as a heart attack.

Merry Christmas! I hope your Christmas (and every day, of course!) is full of Christmas miracles!

One thought on “The Miracle of the Accordion

Leave a Reply

