Book Review: How to Survive a Sharknado and Other Unnatural Disasters

As a Mormon, I one hundred percent can get behind preparedness.  In our semi-annual meetings (also known as General Conference) for as long as I can remember, there has been some mention of personal preparedness.  Typically, however, the warning to prepare is quite general (as it would obviously need to be in a global church–different disasters in different climates, right?)

Fortunately for me, How to Survive a Sharknado and Other Unnatural Disasters covered EVERYTHING (well, nearly everything. We’ll come back to that.)  I can sleep in peace at night knowing that there are ways to avoid disasters like the ones mentioned in this book as well as survive if when one occurs. (With global warming, it’s merely a matter of time…)

Written by someone who NOT ONLY EXPERIENCED A SHARKNADO FIRSTHAND–but actually became a hero during it, Fin Shepard (one of the co-authors)  is a man you can trust to help you best prepare for everything from a beeclipse to a Stonehenge Apocalypse and more.  Drawing on Fin’s personal experience, the reader feels infinitely more prepared for whatever could come his or her way, especially since these unnatural disasters seem to be occurring more and more frequently!

I would recommend this book to everyone–or at least everyone who wants to be a survivor.  In fact, I only had a few slight issues with this survival guide.

1.  The guide did not cover a StayPuft Marshmallow man attack. I’m not sure if it was a gross oversight on the part of the author or if there just isn’t a blowtorch big enough in the state of New York to roast that sucker.

2. The guide also did not teach me how to survive when a wizarding battle breaks out while attending Hogwarts. Nor what to do if I ever found myself amidst vampires and werewolves fighting over true love in Forks, Washington.  It also did not prepare me for what to do if a misunderstood scientist creates a machine that rains food. How am I supposed to survive these catastrophes on my own?

Even with these shortcomings, I think I’ll be buying this book as a wedding gift for all my friends. I mean, what’s the point of living if all your friends are dead? 

When all is said and done, I’d give this book 4 stars. 

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books. 

Leave a Reply

