Book Review: THE HAPPINESS OF PURSUIT

First of all, no. I do not mean the Pursuit of Happiness. This book is legitimately called The Happiness of Pursuit. Is it clever? Yes. Do I get this question often? Only every time anyone asked me what I was reading for the past 2 weeks.

Just in time for the fresh start that comes with 2015, I bring to you the idea of THE QUEST.  This book essentially declares that every human has the innate desire in them to do something that might seem absolutely crazy to all other humans, but it’s a burning desire.  The Quest is more than a bucket list, but could be part of the bucket list.

Some of the quests that people went on in this book were:

  • Traveling to all the countries in the world.
  • Cooking cuisine from all the countries in the world.
  • Not speaking
  • Walking/Biking/Journeying across a country
  • Completing a deceased loved one’s bucket list
  • Sighting and describing the most birds all over the world.

And the list goes on and on.  Originally, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about this book. I’m not the most adventurous of humans.  Have you seen the movie Up?  I’m definitely more of a Carl than an Ellie.  So, going in, I was hesitant.  I didn’t know how this book could bring me any added measure of happiness because I don’t love adventure.

But YOU GUYS.  I enjoyed this book. I want to go on a quest–and I’m going to. As soon as I figure out what my inner burning desire is.  If you need some guidance on how quests can enrich your life, this book is for you.

Stars: 3.5

Author: Chris Guillebeau

One thought on “Book Review: THE HAPPINESS OF PURSUIT

  1. Pingback: Book Review: THE HAPPINESS OF PURSUIT | Buy The DC Football Team

Leave a Reply

