Inside the Criminal Mind: A Review

If we’re being totally honest here, I’m probably not the best at reviewing books. I want to make everyone feel good. I don’t want to be another one of those lurkers on the internet who hates all the things. And then shares my negativity with everyone. I understand that an author took the time to write this book. I understand that part of the author’s soul is in that book.  And, authors are people too. They deserve kindness and caring and happiness. So, my reviews tend to focus on the good in the world–even if I didn’t love it.

This review probably isn’t going to come across quite as sunshine-y.

Truthfully, I just couldn’t get into this book.  I tried. I tried hard, even.  And then, I tried again.  I made in 106 pages into it (it has 330, not including the bibliographic references and index), and I just couldn’t do it anymore.

I’m sure there are people who like this book.  I just wasn’t one of them. (Which, by the way, is weird, since I kind of am fascinated by serial killers and the like.)

After reading the first four chapters–I concluded that I should be afraid of all children everywhere. All the children, based on my understanding of the chapter, have potential to become dangerous criminals.

I took a small break at this point from this book. I thought, maybe this is just too much information. Maybe if I come back to it later I’ll appreciate it more.

I wish I could say I had been right. This book just wasn’t for me.  And I’m sorry.  I’d have to give this a mere 1 star.  I’m sure the topic is interesting to someone, but right now, I’m not that girl.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books.  

Leave a Reply

